Hero Image
22 June 2021 - 24 June 2021
Sustainable Energy Forum for East Africa (SEFEA)

Organised by

Alliance for Rural Electrification (ARE)

The Alliance for Rural Electrification (ARE) is an international business association with the aim to promote a sustainable decentralised renewable energy industry for the 21st century, activating markets for affordable energy services, and creating local jobs and inclusive economies. ARE enables improved energy access through business development support for more than 175 Members along the whole value chain for off-grid technologies.

ARE invites companies from the East Africa region to join ARE before 11 July 2021 to benefit from the unique offer: an additional 10% discount on the first year of ARE Membership package of their choice.

East African Centre of Excellence for Renewable Energy and Efficiency (EACREEE)

East African Centre of Excellence for Renewable Energy and Efficiency (EACREEE) plays a key role in promoting renewable energies and energy efficiency in the East African Community (EAC) region. Through its activities in the areas of policy, capacity development, knowledge management, and awareness raising, as well as business and investment promotion, EACREEE aims to create an enabling environment by mitigating existing barriers and in promoting a competitive sustainable energy market, as well as economies of scale in the EAC region. EACREEE will continue to execute regional projects programmes and activities in the above areas and in addition showing leadership in the coordination and harmonization of donor activities and acting as a regional hub for the SEforALL initiative.

    Supported by


    GET.invest is a European programme which supports investments in decentralised renewable energy. The programme targets private sector business and project developers, financiers and regulators to build sustainable energy markets in developing countries. Services include market information, a funding database, matchmaking events and access-to-finance advisory. The programme is supported by the European Union, Germany, Sweden, the Netherlands, and Austria, and works closely with initiatives and business associations in the energy sector. 

    GET.invest is supported by

    United Nations Industrial Development Organization (UNIDO)

    UNIDO is the specialized agency of the United Nations that promotes industrial development for poverty reduction, inclusive globalization and environmental sustainability. The mission of the United Nations Industrial Development Organization (UNIDO), as described in the Lima Declaration adopted at the fifteenth session of the UNIDO General Conference in 2013, as well as the Abu Dhabi Declaration adopted at the eighteenth session of the UNIDO General Conference in 2019, is to promote and accelerate inclusive and sustainable industrial development (ISID) in Member States.

    The relevance of ISID as an integrated approach to all three pillars of sustainable development is recognized by the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development and the related Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs), which will frame United Nations and country efforts towards sustainable development in the next ten years. UNIDO’s mandate is fully recognized in SDG-9, which calls to “Build resilient infrastructure, promote inclusive and sustainable industrialization and foster innovation”. The relevance of ISID, however, applies in greater or lesser extent to all SDGs. UNIDO in brief | UNIDO and https://www.unido.org/annualreport2020

    Closed since 30 June 2021
    Organised by
    Participants 1155
    Meetings 319
    Kenya 183
    Germany 99
    Uganda 86
    United Kingdom 83
    Ethiopia 54
    United States 50
    France 44
    Nigeria 40
    Tanzania, United Republic Of 37
    Belgium 35
    Rwanda 34
    Netherlands 26
    Zambia 26
    Italy 25
    Burundi 22
    India 21
    South Africa 17
    Austria 15
    Spain 14
    Ghana 11
    Mozambique 10
    Côte d'Ivoire 10
    Switzerland 10
    Burkina Faso 9
    Malawi 9
    Canada 8
    Cameroon 8
    Tunisia 8
    Denmark 7
    Zimbabwe 7
    Namibia 6
    China 6
    Finland 6
    Morocco 6
    Malaysia 6
    Benin 6
    Somalia 5
    Australia 5
    Philippines 5
    Congo, The Democratic Republic Of The 5
    Portugal 5
    China (Hong Kong) 5
    Norway 5
    Sierra Leone 4
    Mauritius 4
    Senegal 4
    Angola 4
    Sweden 4
    Madagascar 4
    Sudan 4
    Mali 3
    Egypt 3
    Niger 3
    Türkiye 3
    Japan 3
    Colombia 2
    Swaziland 2
    South Korea 2
    Myanmar 2
    Indonesia 2
    Sri Lanka 2
    Luxembourg 2
    Argentina 2
    Israel 2
    Maldives 1
    Togo 1
    Hungary 1
    Singapore 1
    Papua New Guinea 1
    Albania 1
    Brazil 1
    Chile 1
    Bangladesh 1
    Mauritania 1
    Ireland 1
    Cape Verde 1
    Fiji 1
    Botswana 1
    United Arab Emirates 1
    Lebanon 1
    Greece 1
    North Macedonia 1
    Tajikistan 1
    Bahrain 1
    Mexico 1
    Nepal 1
    Djibouti 1
    Liberia 1
    Viet Nam 1
    Total 1165